support

forums

email us

Solidworks vs. AutoCAD Inventor View next topic
View previous topic
Nathan
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:13 AM Reply with quoteBack to top

Although it would be hard to tell currently, I'm a mechanical engineer by education. I received my degree from York College and as part of the program we were required to complete three separate, one semester co-ops. I did my co-ops at three separate companies, and each of them used a different drawing package. Also, since we used two different packages at school, you could say I have had a lot of exposure to drawing packages.

We learned the basics of drafting at school on the good old standby, AutoCAD. We did a lot of 2D drawing, but we also worked in 3d (kinda painful if you have ever tried it). For our real 3D modeling work, we used Solidworks. I liked the program a lot when I was at school. The idea of drawing object abstractly and then mating them together later was very exciting. No more exact drawing where tweaking was a real chore. Just change a dimension on the drawing, update the model, and voila! Everything just worked.

My first co-op was at York International, Marine Systems Division. They used Pro-E and had an entire drafting department, so I didn't get to work with the app. But I did do a lot of over the shoulder watching. Pro-E is very powerful, but has a pretty steep learning curve.

The second co-op was at American Hydro Corporation, who used Unigraphics (UNIX based). Also insanely powerful and complex, Unigraphics wasn't the easiest thing to learn. But after a week or so of using it hard, I had 3D modeling and scripting down pretty well. The best thing about Unigraphics was the three button mouse, which allowed quick acceptance of commands.